R&R: Spas Within The Metro That Are Worth Your Money

If I am to identify just one guilty pleasure of mine, it would be having a relaxing, much-deserved body massage. I remember going to a spa bi-monthly for a dose of R&R because… why not? Lol.

Personally, I prefer Swedish massage services. Sometimes I go for a combination of Swedish and Shiatsu or try other massage services for the experience but for most times, I go for my favorite choice.

Here’s a running list of spas I’ve visited (and tried, duh, of course) that are totally worth every peso I spent on. I have gone to other cheaper spas as well but as they say, “you get what you pay for”.

PS. This list is in no particular order.

458c5d5
Source: Google

Mont Albo Massage Hut

My boyfriend, Webb, was the one who suggested to try this spa back in 2014. Their therapists were all nice and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable to move in, beds are neat and tidy and the ambience of the place is great for relaxation. I always go for the Swedish Massage and I am always satisfied with the relief and rejuvenation thereafter. I once tried Hilot (Filipino Traditional Massage), in which they use coconut oil for massage and heated banana leaves to release the stress and tensions on the back area. I found this one lacking of the strokes and pressure I want on my body and it could have been better if the banana leaves were hotter. Hot tea and hot towels are provided after the service.

They have a lot of branches nationwide which makes it easier to try for yourself.

Tip: Watch out for promos! We were able to avail their buy 1 get 1 promo where 2 people can get a massage of their choice for only Php 380 on select dates and time.

Price: Php 330/hr and up (may vary from branch to branch ie. provincial rates)

Branch: Araneta Center (G/F Three Manhattan Parkway Residences, Araneta Center, Cubao)

Facebook Page: Mont Albo Massage Hut

Phone: +63 922 8293075

49661
Source: Google

Nuat Thai

Just like Mont Albo, Nuat Thai also have a lot of branches nationwide. Webb and I tried their newly opened branch in Manhattan Parkway Residences. From the outside, the place already looks spacious compared to others. Beside the reception area is the foot wash area. This is one of my favorites, tbh. I don’t know why but I like having my feet washed before a massage session. I just wish all spa would include foot wash prior to any massage service.

The white walls seemed intimidating but it gave a “posh” feel to the spa. They use black lights in the massage area that blends well with the white tiles and walls. Each matress are placed  on the tiled floor directly. The sheets are fresh and the room is neat and tidy overall.

You can choose what scented oil the therapist will use on you. The peppermint oil is just, ugh! So goood!

Their therapists are nice, accommodating and seemed to be well-trained. I liked how my masseuse, although petite, can give moderate to strong pressure. Hot tea and hot towels are provided after the massage.

Price: Php 350/hr

Branch: Araneta Branch – Manhattan

Facebook Page: Nuat Thai Manhattan Branch-Araneta

Phone: +63 933 8742594

14520535_353579368322041_6069752594548163554_n
Source: Lumiere Skin & Spa Facebook

Lumiere Skin & Spa

Tried this spa after walking around, trying to help our bodies properly digest all the food we devoured from a buffet battle.

In spite of this spa being near my workplace (like literally, within the same vicinity), I never opted to try any of their services until recently.

Their place looks posh and high-end, which probably made me ignore it a few times with the fear of my wallet being ripped off. Lo and behold, we had the guts to check it out and found out that the prices aren’t so bad after all.

We both chose their Lumiere Signature Massage (I’m pretty sure that’s not the exact name but it’s the Swedish one!) which runs for 75 mins. 75 MINUTES! While waiting at their dainty receiving area, we were each given a cup of Ginger tea which made the whole experience already great to start with.

Their rooms are finished with white walls with all white side table and clock. The beds are placed on white bed frames and they use black lights to illuminate the rooms. The beds are neat, tidy and well presented. Plus points: I loved how fresh and soft their towels are.

One notable thing I liked about this place is how I never heard mumblings of staff during the process which I very much appreciate. Also, how their staff handled another client who just can’t stop talking on her phone was remarkable.

The massage includes a hot pack placed on your back for added relaxation and rejuvenation. I’m not sure if you can request for the pack to be hotter than usual but I will try that next time.

The massage was so good and relaxing and it was made even better when another cup of hot Ginger tea was served after the process. Hot towel is also provided.

Price: Php 599/ 75mins

Branch: Wellness Lane, Eastwood City, Libis

Facebook Page: Lumiere Skin & Spa

Phone: +63 906 4654356

Watch out for more as I try out more spas!

Follow my misadventures on Instagram for daily updates: @lahainaandtheflipflops

Leave a Reply

