Lettering 101

When was the last time you tried something for the first time?

Today, I had my first ever hand lettering session with my friend and officemate, Cye.

Cye started her lettering journey few years back, 2014 if my memory serves me well. We met through a common friend during halloween last year. It was only during mid of this year when I learned that she’s doing calligraphy and hand lettering. Since I was into learning the craft and joining workshops was a struggle for me due to my erratic work schedule, I was psyched when I saw her post on her Facebook page that she offers lettering classes for beginners.

Workshop kit.

I immediately asked her the details and though it took some time to set the exact date of when the class will be held, it finally happened today.

She also broke a fun fact during our session that I was her first student for her private classes. 

To be honest, I was really impressed on how prepared she was for the class; she even had a powerpoint presentation! Two thumbs up for Cye!!


I’ve attempted to try calligraphy and hand lettering last year but I relied only on what I think should be done instead of researching how I should ACTUALLY be doing it. Thank God for artists like Cye who has the enthusiasm and generosity to share their passion to others.

Of worksheets and drills.

If you’re following me on my personal Instagram account, I noted on one of my posts how Cye’s lettering journey has inspired me to dig up my art stuff and try it again. 

Practicing before the day ends.

I highly encourage you people out there who wants to try and learn lettering and calligraphy to do it. If you don’t know where or how to start, don’t fret! Just grab a pen and paper, think of happy thoughts and start scribbling. You’ll get there, trust me.

Practicing. Work in progress.

If you’re interested to join or have a class arranged for you, you may contact Cye Ganzon through her Facebook Page or Instagram account. I’m not familiar with the rates, but the one I had with her is super affordable and worth every cent! 😃 

Happy scribbling! 😊 

6 thoughts on “Lettering 101

  1. The question on the first line resonates. I knew I’ve seen it somewhere. I realized it was on a Scribble Kit I’ve bought before. 🙂 Love your scribbles. 🙂

  2. The question on the first line resonates. I knew I’ve seen it somewhere. I realized it was on a Scribbling kit I bought. Haha 🙂 love the scribbles you’ve done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

