Calaguas Island, Camarines Norte

“There are infinite numbers between 0 and 1. There’s .1 and .12 and .112 and an infinite collection of others. Of course, there is a bigger infinite set of numbers between 0 and 2, or between 0 and a million. Some infinities are bigger than other infinities. A writer we used to like taught us that.” – TFIOS, John Green

The streets, the people, the lights – everything in the city can be suffocating and stressful for most time and once in a while, you just need a breather, be it a good fine dine or pig out meal, a hobby to shift your mind from work to how good life actually is, or a getaway – not to escape the stress of everyday living but to ensure that life does not escape us.

We planned on going on this trip few months back. Everybody just needed a breather. Our group was a set of random people – colleagues, siblings, friends. A friend salad, that is. It wasn’t really hard to get along with these people, considering the fact that it was our first time to go out of town as a group. We were individuals who, just like puzzle pieces, fit together perfectly. Everyone had great personalities and stories to share.

It was a long, butt-sore, 7-8 hours travel from Eastwood all the way to Paracale and another 2-hour boat ride from Paracale to Calaguas. Upon seeing the beautiful islands we passed by and the destination itself, my heart was close to having ventricular arrhythmia because I couldn’t contain the excitement I had. Sorry not sorry but I’m childish like that. I didn’t even think twice; I told Roger I can live in this island. Hahaha. Told you, I’m easily fascinated.

We arrived at the island past 1 in the afternoon, just in time for lunch. We were all wowed by the food that was served before us. The budget we had for this trip was way way way cheap for all these glorious home-cooked meals. (My apologies, I didn’t take the chance to take photos of the food since the only thing I could think of every time food is served is stuffing everything inside my mouth.)

We really didn’t have much in our itinerary and that didn’t really matter anyway for someone like me who finds solace in such place, so you can take it from there that I’m pretty much not bothered whether or not we’ve got a thousand activities on our list or just plain beach bumming for 3 straight days.

The only downside I noticed in Calaguas was that the island had a few number of trees around. If you’re expecting of having a sun-kissed tan or a roasted close to burnt finish, 100% success rate is promised. Though the sun was extremely doing its job of heating everything up and we can barely feel even a hint of cool breeze, it didn’t matter. We had everything we needed: bikinis, board shorts, sunscreen, cold beer and a great bunch of crazies.

Since Calaguas is an island, you will have to camp to survive. The good thing about this trip, though, is everything is already secured by our travel organizer: Roger of Oragon Adventures.

Tents are included in the package we availed. All the tents were in mint condition and you wouldn’t have to worry about whatever history may have occurred inside the tents. I opted to bring my own tent because I was feeling camper-ish enough to do so. Charot. The only thing you’ll need to bring is a blanket or a bed sheet or a sleeping bag (if you have one) just so you wouldn’t have to lie down directly on the tent and all the sand that may have entered your tent.

We downed a bottle of brandy and chugged on our cold beers as the sun set before our eyes. Sunsets have always been glorious regardless of where you are. The beauty of it, however, is magnified in seas and mountains.

10 am the next day, we went island hopping as scheduled. I can’t say I’m wowed by the places we were brought to by kuya bangkero but if you’re looking for nice locations for random photo shoots, with rock formations and beautiful scenery, I think you’ll find the places interesting.

The places weren’t really far from where we’re staying so we had the luxury to enjoy the places, whose names I don’t even remember. All I remember is the fun and the crazy moments we shared.

I previously mentioned that Calaguas is like a sauna made of sand and clear waters and because of this, we just had to take our sweet naps inside the cottage that Roger has secured for our group. Some of us were very resourceful and went looking for vacant cottages to sleep in.

Another sunset is already waving at us so we decided to stay by the shore and relax. It was hell of a crazy afternoon as we chased that perfect sunset.

The night was still young so while others are nursing their drunkenness, my friend and I decided to stay outside our tent and tell random stories while stargazing and waiting for shooting stars to wish upon. It was our last night then and lying under the stars would eventually be the best thing to do to wrap this whole adventure thing up.

Our last day was jumpstarted by random hangovers and crazy stories from the day before. The events from the previous day seemed surreal. Everything went crazy but the kind of crazy we’ll all be remembering with big grins and laughter.

After breakfast, Roger led us to this hill where we can see a better view of the ocean and the island. We walked along the shoreline altogether and went straight for a short trek up to the hill. It’s the perfect place to do jumpshots, I guess.

To sum it all up, this trip was definitely an eye opener for me. I’ve been with a random set of people with different personalities which taught me a lot. The experience taught me that you don’t have to hide who you really are. Whatever weirdness, awkwardness or cynical attitude you have, you never really have to be sorry for being yourself.

People will come and go and those who stay are eventually those who can embrace the oddness in you. People will disappoint you and that’s okay. Not everyone can please you. You also have to go and check yourself once in a while if you’ve been honest enough with what you really feel. Are you happy? Are you sad? Are you drunk? Are you in love? It is when you’ve become honest with yourself with what you really want and what you really feel that you’d find the freedom and contentment in the things that you have and the acceptance of the things that you don’t.

I was humbled by the glory of Calaguas and I realized how small I am – just a speck in this beautiful world that God has created. I was humbled but I was blessed. Because I was given a chance to live, the strength to explore, the eyes to see wonders of what this world has to offer, the ability to interact with other people and the heart to love, regardless of who or what.

I have made many wrong decisions in life. I have kept my mouth shut and refrained myself from saying what I really wanted to say. I have many regrets but I chose not to dwell on them. Being expressive back in time has made me vulnerable and the fear of being rejected has hardened me inside. This has caused me to lose people in my life and push people away and it made my walls even harder to break.

The individuals I was with had different kinds of walls built around them, but they have taught me that no matter how scared I may be for the possibilities in the future, you just don’t shut things down out of that fear. You breakthrough your walls, you lower down your guards, you need to vulnerable, to be hurt and to be disappointed because having all these feelings in the world makes you a person and not a non-living thing that can’t move. You are a person and you are meant to feel, to be honest and to be who you are.

For those of you who are interested to visit Calaguas and other places, feel free to get in touch with my friend, Roger!

Roger Abarico

Facebook: Oragon Adventures

Mobile: 0917-7151024

2 thoughts on “Calaguas Island, Camarines Norte

  1. Shet. Nakakaiyak to. Namiss ko to! It was a momentous event meeting you there! Napareminisce lang ako. ❤

Leave a Reply

